Just Like Jackie

Just Like Jackie

By:  Lindsey Stoddard

Eleven year-old Robinson “Robbie” Hart wants to be more like her namesake Jackie Robinson, but she gets in trouble at school for letting her anger get the best of her.  Robbie is worried about her guardian grandfather’s failing memory.  He is the only family she has.  She wishes she could spend more time with him doing the things she loves, like working on cars, playing baseball, and making maple syrup.  However, some moments push her over the edge, like when the school bully, Alex, keeps calling her a “motherless Robin”.  Robbie is also worried about the class project to create a family tree when all she has is a family branch.  The school counselor asks her to be part of a group counseling session where she learns that other classmates have big problems too.

This is a very moving middle grade story and would be perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

Renee (Parr)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Post Author: reneekir

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *