Sites for Parents

Parenting

Baby Center – http://www.babycenter.com/
Find information on pregnancy, children’s health, parenting & more, including expert advice & weekly newsletters that detail your child’s development from preconception to 9 years.

Kids in Mind – http://www.kids-in-mind.com/
This site enables adults to determine whether a movie is appropriate for them or their children according to their own criteria. Unlike the MPAA, they do not assign a rating based on age but 3 objective ratings for Sex/Nudity, Violence/Gore, and Profanity, on a scale of 0 to 10, and explains in detail why a film rates high or low in a specific category

Family Fun & Entertainment – http://fun.familyeducation.com  
With links to a multitude of sources in many subjects, this site links parents and caregivers to a plethora of information. Opportunities for communication such as blogs and message boards, recipes, special needs resources, and much more are found here. Advertisements are present, but can be skipped over at times.

Pampers Parenting Institutehttp://www.pampers.com
Information from T. Berry Brazelton and other experts on infant and toddler care.

Education.com – http://www.education.com/
Provides parents of school-aged children with free access to information and resources to give them the answers they need — plus activities and articles that make learning together more fun for everyone.

Early Childhood Interventionhttp://www.dars.state.tx.us/ecis/index.shtml
ECI is a Texas-wide program supporting families with children from birth to three years with developmental delays and disabilities.

 

Early Literacy

Birth to Six –  http://www.multcolib.org/birthtosix/booklists/bklists.html
Includes information about early literacy skills and how to help your child get ready to read as well as how to read to different ages: babies, toddlers, and preschoolers. Booklists are provided. Discusses the role reading plays in brain development. Provides information about early childhood resources and programs, including Early Words.

Get Ready to Read – http://www.getreadytoread.org/
Get Ready to Read! (GRTR!) is a national initiative to build the early literacy skills of preschool-age children. The initiative provides an easy-to-administer, research-based screening tool to early childhood educators, child care providers, and parents in order to help them prepare all children to learn to read and write.

Ready at Fivehttp://www.readyatfive.org
Parent newsletters and school readiness activities.

Reading is Fundamental http://www.rif.org
How to choose good books, create a literacy-rich home, and motivate your child to read.

Story Blocks http://www.storyblocks.org
Children get ready to read long before they start Kindergarten. You can help by singing, talking, and playing with the children in your care. Watch these brief videos to learn fun songs and rhymes, and how they help build readers!

Zero to Threehttp://www.zerotothree.org/
Complete early literacy guide for parents and caregivers.

 

Internet Safety

Child Safety on the Information Highway – http://www.safekids.com/
A guide to Internet safety for parents and kids, originally from the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children and Interactive Services Association. Offers a quiz for kids on Internet safety. http://www.safekids.com/quiz/

Connect Safely http://www.connectsafely.org
If you have concerns about social media and how your children are using it, this site provides some help and guidelines for parents. 

 

Family Fun in DFW  

Aquariums

Dallas World Aquarium – Dallas http://www.dwazoo.com/

 

Attractions

Cowtown Cattlepen Maze – http://cowtowncattlepenmaze.com/

Dallas Farmers Market – http://www.dallasfarmersmarket.org/

Sandy Lake Amusement Park – http://www.sandylake.com/

Six Flags Over Texas – http://www.sixflags.com/overTexas/index.aspx

South Fork Ranch – http://www.southfork.com/

Stockyards Station – http://www.stockyardsstation.com/

Tarantula Train-
https://www.grapevinetexasusa.com/ThingsToDo/GrapevineVintageRailroad/tabid/267/Default.aspx

Texas Motor Speedway – http://www.texasmotorspeedway.com/          

 

Historical Sites

Chestnut Square Historic Village – McKinney http://www.chestnutsquare.org/

Fair Park – Dallas http://www.fairpark.org/

Florence Ranch Homestead – Mesquite http://www.cityofmesquite.com/hmi/florence_ranch.php
Fort Worth Stockyards National Historic Dist. – Fort Worth http://www.fortworthstockyards.org/

Garland Landmark Museum – Garland http://www.garlandhistorical.org/

Heard-Craig House – McKinney http://www.heardcraig.org/

Irving Heritage House – Irving http://www.irvingheritage.com/

Log Cabin Village – Fort Worth http://www.logcabinvillage.org/

Marty Leonard Community Chapel at Lena Pope Home – Fort Worth http://www.lenapopehome.org/marty-leonard-chapel

McKinney Avenue Trolley – Dallas http://www.mata.org/

Old Bedford School – Bedford http://www.oldbedfordschool.com/

Old Red Courthouse/Museum – Dallas http://www.oldred.org/

Sundance Square – Fort Worth http://www.sundancesquare.com/

Thanks-Giving Square – Dallas http://www.thanksgiving.org/

Thistle Hill House Museum – Fort Worth Thistle Hill House Museum http://www.historicfortworth.org/WeddingsTours/tabid/627/Default.aspx

West End Historical District – Dallas http://www.dallaswestend.org/

 

Nature and Gardens

Campión Trails – Irving http://www.traillink.com/trail/campion-trail.aspx

Cedar Ridge Preserve – Dallas http://www.audubondallas.org/cedar-ridge-preserve/

Clark Gardens Botanical Park – Weatherford http://www.clarkgardens.org/

Connemara Conservancy – Allen http://www.connemaraconservancy.org/

Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Garden – Dallas http://www.dallasarboretum.org/

Fort Worth Botanic Garden – Fort Worth http://www.fwbg.org

Fort Worth Nature Center and Refuge – Fort Worth http://www.fwnaturecenter.org/

Fort Worth Water Gardens – Fort Worth
http://www.fortworth.com/things-to-do/attractions/fort-worth-water-gardens/

Heard Natural Science Museum and Wildlife Sanctuary – McKinney http://www.heardmuseum.org/

River Legacy Living Science Center – Arlington http://www.riverlegacy.org/

Texas Discovery Gardens – Dallas http://texasdiscoverygardens.org/

 

Museums

African American Museum, The – Dallas http://www.aamdallas.org/

American Airlines C.R. Smith Museum – Fort Worth http://www.crsmithmuseum.org/home.aspx

Amon Carter Museum – Fort Worth http://www.cartermuseum.org/about

Arlington Museum of Art – Arlington http://www.arlingtonmuseum.org/

Cattle Raisers Museum – Fort Worth http://www.cattleraisersmuseum.org/

Cavanaugh Flight Museum – Addison http://www.cavanaughflightmuseum.com/

Dallas Center for Contemporary Art – Dallas http://www.dallascontemporary.org/

Dallas Holocaust Museum – Dallas http://www.dallasholocaustmuseum.org/

Dallas Museum of Art – Dallas https://www.dma.org/

Fort Worth Museum of Science and History – Fort Worth http://www.fwmuseum.org

Hall of State at Fair Park – Dallas http://www.hallofstate.com/

Heritage Farmstead Museum – Plano http://www.heritagefarmstead.org/

International Museum of Cultures – Dallas http://www.internationalmuseumofcultures.org/

Kimbell Art Museum – Fort Worth https://www.kimbellart.org/index.aspx

Lewisville Lake Environmental Learning Area – Lewisville http://www.ias.unt.edu/llela/
Louis Tussaud’s Palace of Wax & Ripley’s Believe It or Not! – Grand Prairie http://grandprairie.ripleys.com/

Madi Museum and Gallery – Dallas http://www.madimuseum.org/

Mansfield Historical Museum and Heritage Center – Mansfield http://www.mansfieldhistory.org/

Mary Kay Museum – Addison http://www.marykaymuseum.com/

Meadows Museum of Art – Dallas http://www.meadowsmuseumdallas.org/

Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth – Fort Worth http://www.themodern.org/

Museum of Nature & Science – Dallas http://www.natureandscience.org/

Museum of the American Railroad, The – Dallas http://www.dallasrailwaymuseum.com/

Nasher Sculpture Center – Dallas http://www.nashersculpturecenter.org/

National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame – Fort Worth http://www.cowgirl.net/

National Scouting Museum – Irving http://www.bsamuseum.org/

North Texas History Center – McKinney http://thenthc.org/

Oscar E. Monnig Meteorite Gallery – Fort Worth http://www.monnigmuseum.tcu.edu/

Sid Richardson Collection of Western Art -Fort Worth http://www.sidrichardsonmuseum.org

Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza, The – Dallas http://www.jfk.org/

Stockyards Museum – Fort Worth http://www.stockyardsmuseum.org/

Texas Civil War Museum – Fort Worth http://www.texascivilwarmuseum.com/

Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame – Fort Worth http://www.texascowboyhalloffame.com/

Texas Fashion Collection – Denton http://www.tfc.unt.edu/

Texas First Ladies Historic Costume Collection – Denton
http://www.twu.edu/gown-collection/

Trammell and Margaret Crow Collection of Asian Art, The – Dallas
http://www.crowcollection.com/

Vintage Flying Museum – Fort Worth http://www.vintageflyingmuseum.org/

White Settlement Historical Museum – White Settlement http://www.wsmuseum.com/

Women’s Museum, The – Dallas http://www.thewomensmuseum.org/

 

Parks and Recreation

Fort Worth Stock Show and Rodeo – Fort Worth http://www.fwssr.com/

Mesquite Championship Rodeo – Mesquite http://www.mesquiterodeo.com/

North Texas State Fair and Rodeo – Denton http://www.ntfair.com/

Stockyard Championship Rodeo – Fort Worth http://www.cowtowncoliseum.com/

Texas Parks & Wildlife – Texas http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/

     

Planetariums 

Noble Planetarium – Fort Worth http://www.fwmuseum.org/noble-planetarium-about

Planetarium at UT Arlington, The – Arlington http://www.uta.edu/planetarium/

University of North Texas Sky Theater Planetarium – Denton http://skytheater.unt.edu/

Theater and Performing Arts

Actors Conservatory Theatre – Lewisville http://www.getintotheact.org/

ArtCentre of Plano – Plano http://www.artcentreofplano.org/

Artisan Center Theatre – Hurst http://www.artisanct.com/

Bass Performance Hall – Fort Worth http://www.basshall.com/

Bath House Cultural Center – Dallas http://www.dallasculture.org/bathHouseCultureCenter/
Casa Mañana’s Children’s Playhouse – Fort Worth http://www.casamanana.org/childrens
Charles W. Eisemann Center for Performing Arts – Richardson http://www.eisemanncenter.com/tickets/

Circle Theatre – Fort Worth http://www.circletheatre.com/

Creative Arts Theatre – Arlington http://www.creativearts.org/

Dallas Children’s Theatre – Dallas http://www.dct.org/

Dallas Summer Musicals – Dallas http://www.dallassummermusicals.org/

Dallas Theater Center – Dallas http://www.dallastheatercenter.org/

Denton Community Theatre – Denton http://www.dentoncommunitytheatre.com/

Flower Mound Chamber Orchestra – Flower Mound http://www.fmco.org/

Flower Mound Performing Arts Theater – Flower Mound http://www.fmpat.org/

Fort Worth Community Arts Center – Fort Worth http://www.fwcac.com/

Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra – Fort Worth http://www.fwsymphony.org/

Frisco Area Children’s Theater – Frisco http://www.friscoacts.com/

Frisco Community Theater – Frisco http://www.friscocommunitytheatre.com/

Greater Lewisville Community Theatre – Lewisville http://www.glct.org/

Heard Craig Hall – McKinney http://www.heardcraig.org/

Hip Pocket Theatre – Fort Worth http://www.hippocket.org/

Jubilee Theater – Fort Worth http://www.jubileetheatre.org/

Kids Who Care – Fort Worth http://www.kidswhocare.org/

Lewisville Lake Symphony – Flower Mound http://www.lewisvillesymphony.org/

Majestic Theatre, The – Dallas http://www.liveatthemajestic.com/

McKinney Performing Arts Center – McKinney http://www.mckinneyperformingartscenter.org/frameset.asp?aid=144
Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center – Dallas http://www.dallasculture.org/meyersonsymphonycenter/

Music Hall at Fair Park – Dallas http://www.liveatthemusichall.com/

Ohlook Performing Arts Center – Grapevine http://www.ohlookperform.com/

Plano Children’s Theater – Plano http://www.planochildrenstheatre.org/

Pocket Sandwich Theatre – Dallas http://www.pocketsandwich.com/

RCT – Repertory Company Theatre – Richardson http://www.rcttheatre.com/

Runway Theatre – Grapevine http://www.runwaytheatre.com/

Stage West – Fort Worth http://stagewest.org/

Teatro Dallas – Dallas
http://teatrodallas.tix.com/Schedule.asp?OrganizationNumber=1679

Theatre Arlington – Arlington http://www.theatrearlington.org/

Theatre Coppell – Coppell http://www.theatrecoppell.com/

Theatre Three – Dallas http://www.theatre3dallas.com/

Verizon Theater (NOKIA Theatre) – Grand Prairie http://verizontheatre.com/

WaterTower Theatre – Addison http://www.watertowertheatre.org/

Zoos

Dallas Zoo – Dallas http://www.dallaszoo.com/

Fossil Rim Wildlife Center – Glen Rose http://www.fossilrim.org/

Frank Buck Zoo – Gainesville http://www.frankbuckzoo.com/

Sharkarosa Wildlife Ranch – Pilot Point http://www.sharkarosa.com/

 

 

Last Updated: BAO december 2015

Print Friendly

Print this entry

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *